Mt Gudgenby VK1/AC-009 1739 metres ASL

Sunday 25 October 2015.  Adan VK1FJAW, Al VK1RX and I attempted Mt Gudgenby today, unfortunately with 525 metres (200 vertical metres) to go I had to stop and sit out the remaining ascent.  With 8.2 km completed, I suddenly developed severe stomach cramps, bugger.  😮

After resting for 10 minutes I asked Adan and Al to continue to the summit while I stayed put waiting for their return.  🙂  I maintained contact with Adan and Al on 2m FM simplex.  I was surprised to find I had good mobile phone reception with Telstra.

Below is the track log from Yankee Hat car park and ascent profile up to 1532 metres ASL where I stayed for 3 hours.  We used bikes to cover the first leg 4 km from Yankee Hat car park to a way-point marked as ‘Footpad’ in 30 minutes. Thanks Adan for the loan of your wife’s bike, I bet it was funny watching me ride the bike with my knees touching the handle bars. 🙂   Adan locked the bikes to a tree near the start of the footpad trail.

Yankee Hat CP to the start of a footpad trail leading to Gudgenby saddle

Oz Topo map – Yankee Hat CP to the start of a footpad trail leading to Gudgenby saddle. Departed Yankee Hat CP at 7:30 am, returned to the car at 4 pm for an 8 1/2 half hour day.

Gudgenby track profile

Gudgenby track profile.  (My track log stops 525 metres below the summit)

Yankee Hat car park - Adan and Al ready for the 4km bike ride

Yankee Hat car park – Adan and Al ready for the 4km bike ride

Foreground 'Yankee Hat' mountian, background Mt Gudgenby

Foreground ‘Yankee Hat’ mountain, in the distance Mt Gudgenby 6 km as the crow flies

Mt Gudgenby granite suumit

Mt Gudgenby at 1739 metres ASL – 8 point SOTA summit

cycling and creek crossings come with some risks - no I didn't fall off

cycling and creek crossings come with some risks – no I didn’t fall off

Mt Gudgenby, impressive!

Mt Gudgenby granite summit, impressive!  The summit rises 700 vertical metres above the valley.

narrow trail to Gudgenby saddle

narrow footpad trail to Gudgenby saddle (no bikes)

small rock cairn markers guide the way

small rock cairn markers guide the way

Gudgenby saddle

Gudgenby saddle – evidence of wild pigs turning the soil over

From Gudgenby saddle the ascent is a scrub bash to the summit.  We did see the occasional piece of pink tape tied to tree branches at head height.

Footpad to 1532 metres ASL en route to Mt Gudgenby

Oz Topo map – Footpad to 1532 metres ASL en route to Mt Gudgenby summit

scrub bash to the summit

very steep scrub bash to the summit

view from my position while I waited for Adan and AL

view from my position while I waited for Adan and Al to return.

my temporary position for 3 hours

my temporary position at  -35° 46′ 31.7″ 148° 54′ 43.6″

What is there to do for 3 hours?  Watch tiny Skink lizards prey on insects and frolic in the sun.  Good news I didn’t see a single snake all day.  Ian VK1DI has photos of a fat 1 metre Tiger snake when he last visited this peak.  Tiger snakes are known to be aggressive, their toxic venom means the snake is classified as the world’s 4th most venomous snake.

view of the scrub looking south-east down to Gudgenby saddle

view of the scrub looking south-east downhill towards Gudgenby saddle

I hope to return in 2016, most likely in late March for a 2nd attempt at this summit.  🙂

5 thoughts on “Mt Gudgenby VK1/AC-009 1739 metres ASL

  1. I was wondering where you were with the activation. Guessing you at least managed to chase? Hope nothing serious wrong. Hoping for a few summits this weekend. Good read, tnx Tony

    • Tony, may have been something I ate 30 minutes earlier, all okay now. I maintained comms with Adan and Al on 2m simplex, so yes I did get the opportunity to chase the summit. VK1 Wx forecast for Sunday is rain and a chance of thunderstorms.

  2. Hi Andrew
    You now have something to discuss with you GP on your next visit! However, the post is great and I enjoyed the pictures. You three are amazing.
    cheers
    John D
    VK5BJE

  3. darn Shame you Couldn’t make it Andrew but you did the most sensible thing to rest up until the boys got back I couldn’t work the boys to much noise here at home
    rest up and catch you soon

Please leave a Reply

